Worship Wednesday – Lord I Need You

WorshipWednesday

So sometimes I get to sing at church.  It’s still kind of surreal to me….that God would allow someone like me to be used for His glory…someone with a shady past…someone with sinful desires…someone who fails daily…that He would even want to use me is humbling and ridiculous.  That is neither here nor there :]

This past Sunday I got to sing some back-up on some awesome songs…this is one of those awesome songs!  Check it out!


Lord, I come, I confess

Bowing here I find my rest
Without You I fall apart
You’re the One that guides my heart

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

Where sin runs deep Your grace is more
Where grace is found is where You are
And where You are, Lord, I am free
Holiness is Christ in me

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

Teach my song to rise to You
When temptation comes my way
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus, You’re my hope and stay

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

You’re my one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

Prayer…do you do it? Do you think you should?  Do you think someone is listening?  Do you think you are being heard?

I do, I do, I do, I do.

Often I pray my laundry list of things I want or need at the moment.  I cry out to God to heal my friend’s father, bring a sweet baby home from the NICU, that my friends get a job, that my effort in the gym would pay off.  I come to God out of my desire, NOT out of my praise.

Lord I come, I confess…bowing here I find my rest.  When we confess to the Lord, it relieves the stress, it clears your mind to see God’s many blessings, it gets you in a place where you can talk to God without distraction….it gives you rest.

Without you I fall apart, you’re the one that guides my heart.  My favorite verse in the Bible is Psalm 37:4…Take delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart {NIV Version}…When we are delighting in the Lord {praying to him, seeking his will over our own, learning about our father in Heaven} He will give us the desires of our heart….I’m not talking about a large house or  another cute outfit.  When we are delighting in the Lord, His desires become our desires..we want what he wants for us because we are in alignment with Him.  Without Him, our desires are not in alignment with His…we fall apart!  I’ve been there, have you?

Teach my song to rise to you when temptation comes my way.  When temptation comes your way, do you give in or do you give it to the Lord?  I admit I do both.  There was a time when I just gave in to temptation and didn’t consider the Lord….by God’s grace, I’m improving.  I want to come to the Lord when any temptation comes my way.  I don’t want to give in to sin.  I don’t want to say the Devil won and I spit in Jesus’ face.  Teach my song to rise to you Lord!!!

I lieu of all these ramblings, I’ll pray this…pleading with the Lord, letting Him know how much I need him….I cannot fight this battle alone…he’s my defense and righteousness!

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

I hope this song speaks to you as it does to me…I hope it blesses you as it does me…I hope you want to turn it up loud and sing at the top of your lungs like I do, and I hope it challenges you to adore our Lord even more than you already do…confessing to him and knowing that you need Him every hour of every day like I do.

Leave a Reply

